NCPRE Illinois/NTU Leadership Retreat Leading the Research University of the Future

20-21 November 2014

Nanyang Technological University participants

Angela Goh, President's Office
Ravi Kumar, Dean, College of Business
Louis Phee, Chair, School of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Peter Preiser, Acting Chair, School of

Biological Sciences **Charles Salmon**, Chair, School of Communication & Information

University of Illinois participants

Ilesanmi Adesida, Provost Tim Barnes, Director, IL Strategic **International Partnerships** Rashid Bashir, Head, BioEngineering Douglas Beck, Professor, Physics Elabbas Benmamoun, Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs Carla Caceres, Director, Integrative Biology Andreas Cangellaris, Dean, College of Engineering Jie Chen, Head, Cell & Developmental Biology Peter Constable, Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine Larry Debrock, Dean, College of Business Fritz Drasgow, Dean, School of Labor & **Employment Relations** Edward Feser, Dean, College of Fine + **Applied Arts** Robert Hauser, Dean, College of Agricultural, **Consumer & Environmental Sciences** Mark Henderson, Chief Information Officer Dave Irwin, Head, Psychology Mary Kalantzis, Dean, College of Education Pradeep Khana, Associate Chancellor for **Corporate & International Relations** Wynne Korr, Dean, School of Social Work Laurie Kramer, Associate Dean, Agricultural, **Consumer & Environmental Sciences** Melanie Loots, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Michele Mariscalco, Dean, College of Medicine Klara Nahrstedt, Acting Director, **Coordinated Science Lab**

Allen Renear, Dean, Graduate School of Library & Information Science Gene Robinson, Director, Woese Institute for Genomic Biology Rob Rutenbar, Head, Computer Science William Sanders, Head, Electrical & **Computer Engineering** Susan Schantz, Interim Director, **Neuroscience** Program Peter Schiffer, Vice Chancellor for Research Jan Slater, Dean, College of Media K.C. Ting, Head, Agricultural & Biological Engineering Charles Tucker, Vice Provost for **Undergraduate Education & Innovation** Craig Williams, Interim Head, Germanic Languages and Literature Barbara Wilson, Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Phyllis Wise, Chancellor

Presenters

Mary Sue Coleman, President Emerita, University of Michigan

Larry Faulkner, President Emeritus, University of Texas

Mark S. Frankel, AAAS Program Director, Scientific Responsibility, Human Rights & Law

Brian C. Martinson, Senior Research Investigator, HealthPartners Research

National Center for Professional & Research Ethics

C.K. Gunsalus, Director, National Center for Professional and Research Ethics

Nicholas Burbules, Education Director NCPRE, College of Education (UIUC)

Michael Loui, Assessment Director, NCPRE, Electrical & Computer Engineering (Purdue University)

Victoria Stodden, Director, NCPRE Data Science Initiative; Graduate School of Library & Information Science

NCPRE Team: Gene Amberg, Daniel Araya , Ashley McGhee, Vance Martin, Jill Peckham, Donna Tonini



